Home » how to

How To Erase all Data and Applications on a BlackBerry device

Warning: The steps described in the following article will delete all data or all applications on your BlackBerry device. It is highly recommended to perform a backup before running these steps.

If you plan to erase your BlackBerry device, you have the choice between either erasing all data or, if you want to completely erase your BlackBerry, all data AND applications.

If you want to erase all the data, you have the following options:

  1. Select the Wipe Handheld option.
  2. Type an incorrect password ten times.
  3. Use Application Loader to erase all data.
  4. Use Backup and Restore to clear the device databases.

The Wipe Handheld Option
By completing the following steps, you can erase all data on your BlackBerry device:

  1. In the device Options, click Security. If you are using BlackBerry Device Software 4.1, click Security Options > General Security.
  2. Click the trackwheel and select Wipe Handheld.
  3. Click Continue.
  4. Type blackberry. All the data on the BlackBerry device is erased.

The  Incorrect Password option
To erase all the data on your BlackBerry device, type an incorrect password ten times. You may be prompted to type blackberry a few times during the process. Once completed, all data on the device is erased.
If you do not have a password on your device, you can create one.

  1. In the device Options, click Security. If you are using BlackBerry Device Software 4.1, click Security Options > General Security.
  2. Beside Password, change the option to Enabled.
  3. Type the password that you want, and confirm the password.
  4. Reset the device. Once it has restarted, you will be prompted for a password.

Use of the Application Loader to Erase All Data
To erase all data on your BlackBerry device, complete the following steps:

  1. Connect your device to the computer running BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
  2. In Desktop Manager, double-click the Application Loader icon.
  3. In the Application Loader Wizard window, click Next.
  4. On the Device Security Password screen, type your BlackBerry device security password, then click Next.
  5. On the Device Application Selection screen, click Next.
  6. On the Completing the Application Loader Wizard screen, click Advanced. The Device Data Preservation screen is displayed.
  7. To erase all application data on the BlackBerry device, select the Erase all application data check box, then click Next.
  8. Select the option beside Do not automatically back up and restore the device application data during the loading process, then click Next.
  9. Click Finish. The BlackBerry device resets. This might take several minutes.

Use Backup and Restore to Clear the Databases
To clear the databases on your BlackBerry device, do the following:

  1. Connect your device to the computer running Desktop Manager.
  2. In Desktop Manager, double-click the Backup and Restore icon, then click Advanced.
  3. Press and hold the Shift key while selecting all the databases in the Handheld Databases list box.
  4. Click Clear.
  5. Click OK on the Warning window. All databases on the BlackBerry device are erased.
  6. Click Close until the Desktop Manager is displayed.

To erase all the data AND applications on your BlackBerry device:

Type an Incorrect Password in Application Loader

  1. Connect your device to the computer running Desktop Manager.
  2. In Desktop Manager, double-click the Application Loader icon.
  3. In the Application Loader Wizard window, click Next.
  4. On the Device Security Password screen, type an incorrect password and click Next. Perform this step ten times.
  5. Click Close.Without software the device is unresponsive. It displays device error 507. To re-install the device software, open the Application Loader and select the software and applications you want to install.